Me, Myself, and Arts Entrepreneurship

Monday, January 16, 2017

I am sitting here with my cup of coffee, reflecting on how I perceive myself in the world. Reflection is a powerful tool for humanity; it’s what encourages change and growth. In respect and remembrance of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., one of the faces of change, today many Americans have the opportunity to take time off from their work focus and reflect. My reflections lead me to two different categories, my superficial self and the unseen force that moves me. My superficial self; 23-year-old, white, female, 5’9, fit, dark hair, and green eyes. These attributes are the surface of me. If you aren’t able to dig deeper, this what you see and what you get. If you have the opportunity to dig deeper into who Nichole is you’ll discover the force that drives me. This unseen force is my past, present, and future, it is everything I was, am and hope to be. It is rooted in my belief and faith in the Lord. Its cultivation is found in the horrors of my past. Its sustainability is in the motivation to change similar horrors in the world. This force allows me to produce my works of performance art for the sake of humanity. My superficial self is a messenger for my force, it allows me to produce and spread the messages that will ignite positive change. It allows me to be an art entrepreneur.

-NLP

Leave a Reply

